Scroll Top
33 Onslow Street, Geraldton WA

2024 Hollomby Foundation Scholarships Awarded


Wednesday, 27 March 2024

Thanks to the generous support of our scholarship donors, over $100,000 in scholarships were awarded to 36 Geraldton Universities Centre (GUC) students at our annual Hollomby Foundation Scholarship Presentation Event.

Named in honour of the late Joe Hollomby, the Hollomby Foundation Scholarship Program provides financial assistance to students studying a degree course through the GUC. Scholarships are provided by a broad range of individuals and organisations across the Mid West.

This year we welcomed two new scholarship providers.  GMA Garnet Australia have generously provided $10,000 in scholarships and the estate of the late Mr Ian Wheatland, who through a bequeath to the Hollomby Foundation has a scholarship named in his honour.  Mr Wheatland was the founder of the Hollomby Foundation.

The event also saw the presentation of four clocks, handmade by Joe Hollomby’s son Les.   Les kindly donated the clocks in recognition and thanks to long term donors to the Hollomby Foundation.  This year the clocks were presented to the Rotary Club of Greater Geraldton, Rotary Club of Batavia Coast, RSM Australia, and Bendigo Community Bank Geraldton.

The Hollomby Foundation plays a huge role in financially supporting GUC students through their university studies.

GUC Director Natalie Nelmes said, “This year’s applications told very compelling stories of the impact that the current cost of living crisis is having on students trying to juggle work, family, and studies.  It really bought home to me how tough the current economic climate is.”

Photo credits

  1. GMA Garnet Production Manager Leanne Scally and Production Superintendent Kalvin Ryan-Holmes with scholarship recipient Jane Barndon.
  2. Group scholarship recipients and donors.
  3. Long Term donor clock presentation
    L-R Rotary Club of Batavia Coast Clark Scarff, Rotary Club of Greater Geraldton (Yvonne Messina representing on behalf of Club) RSM Australia Kara Golding, and Bendigo Community Bank Geraldton Kate York.